Balbriggan CC Awards Ceremony 2017

The student awards ceremony took place in our brand new Balbriggan Community College Gym on Friday 26th May. There was a huge turn out from friends, family and teachers of the students to help celebrate their day. A massive thank you to Progressive Credit Union for their sponsorship of our event again this year and to Brian Howard for his continued support.

Awards were presented to students who excelled in many different areas of school life. Sporting achievements featured very highly this year with Mr Mooneys U 17 and U19 soccer teams being rewarded for their championship wins. Muiz Shittu, Jason Ogun, Frank Cabraley, Bill Sosso and Lido Lotefa all received awards for soccer.

In athletics, Marvellous Agbator, Calum Mc Coy, Kian Smith and Hammed Oyefeso all received awards for their achievements in Santry this year.

Rugby, Basketball and Gaelic were all represented at the awards too.

Linguistics club participants and Irish language enthusiasts received special mention with Kevin Condrea receiving a beautiful award for Irish speaker of the year.

The Jessie Foley award for creative award was this year given to Jack Whelan, while the David Mc Donnell award went to the cast of Grease. The transition year students were presented with the Cillian Gaffney awards for their work in the green schools project.

A student in each year is chosen as student of the year. In 2017 the winners were Maria Lewandowska , Aaron Caldwell, Daragh Foran, Sarah Kendellen, Emiliya Muniute ,and Liam Kavanagh . Runners up in each year group were Adam Davey, Niall Delaney, Jack Halligan,Grainne Hughes Cian McGrane and Jack Masterson .

Cian McGrane and Allison Reilly were rewarded for achieving the best junior and leaving certs for 2016 with Cian also getting another award for chess.

Students from each year group were awarded prizes for their hardwork. Students who participated in the Trinity access programme and CFES were presented with certs from Gary Gannon -Trinity College Dublin, while prefects received a commemorative keyring and pen for all their hard work.

Liam Kavanagh was overall student of the year and was presented with his trophy by Kathleen Fanning.

Congratulations to all the winners. Thanks to Ms. Lucey for organising the awards ceremony.